“Oh, that is so gross!” discussion

Hello Big Read readers! I don’t know about the rest of you, but my boyfriend, roommate, friends, coworkers, and acquaintances are getting a little tired of me blurting out strange and gross tidbits of information about the human digestive system. But how can you not want to tell everyone about Elvis’ megacolon or Alexis St. Martin’s fistulated stomach? If you are in the same boat, don’t worry you are not alone! The rest of the Big Read community will understand, so go ahead and share your comments on the book below. What is the grossest thing you have read so far in Gulp? What is the coolest thing you have learned? What facts can’t you get out of your head?

We will compile a list of your answers and talk about them during our discussion on November 6th, but feel free to respond even if you can’t make the discussion.

About sarahjlongo

I'm a first year graduate student in the Department of Population Biology at UC Davis. Broadly, I am interested in studying both the patterns and processes of evolution in actinopterygian fishes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Oh, that is so gross!” discussion

  1. Jay Johnstone says:

    Grossest thing is that doctors successfully treating some serious diseases with tranfusions of bacteria from healthy colons have to bill it as a colonoscopy because insurance companies don’t pay for “experimental” treatments and the FDA is dragging it’s feet approving it because Big Pharm and Med Tech can’t make big profits on this obvious solution. I agree that the Elivis megacolon is sensational and sorry news, though. I had no idea of his suffering.

  2. sarahjlongo says:

    I think some of the coolest things I learned were about were the first few chapters about the importance of taste, smell, and even texture in the decision to eat something. I knew that an evolutionary history as hunter-gatherers makes us crave valuable fats and sugars, but I hadn’t realized that the crispiness of a potato chip is also an evolutionary hold-over (for choosing ripe and fresh veggies). These chapters made me also realize how much I project own sensory biases on my pet. When I went to Petco this week, I only bought the “Tender Ocean Seafood” since that is what she likes best. Not the variety offered by “Gourmet Liver and Chicken” and “Savory Beef EntrĂ©e.”

    Grossest thing was the chocolate poop milkshake.

Leave a Reply

